Engle Realty: Louisiana Real Estate
Residential & Commercial Real Estate Sales and Rentals
Before becoming a licensed agent for the state of Louisiana you're required to be educated on the real estate industry. Here are a few notes on education requirements:
90 hours of approved training are required.
Initial education cost around $500 for the class fees. (Tip: Online courses are cheaper.)
Education can take as little as 2 weeks but can be stretched out to 9 weeks for those with busier schedules. (Tip: Online courses offer more flexibility for those who currently are employed or go to school.)
You also need to have 45 additional hours of classes after you get your license, which is known as post-licensing education.
Louisiana real estate schools accept incoming real estate agents into their classes during certain intervals. Usually these intervals are once a month or so. For example, A real estate school may start a class on the first and the 15th of every month. So, if today is May 16th, then the next opportunity for you to take a class is on April 1st.
If the course is a two-week course, you'll start the class on a Monday. Your first week will be 5 days (Monday through Friday) and then the second week would be (Monday through Friday) of the following week. The two week course actually last 10 days from 9am-5pm or so with a lunch break in between.
The course material is pretty basic. A real estate agent is taught real estate law, real estate math, and other real estate information. Compared to college the material may seem similar or more rudimentary.